Preparation for Confinement – Cutting my hair

The Chinese believe that there is a need for mums to do confinement for 28 days (the first month) upon birth of the baby. It has been rumoured that if you don’t do a proper confinement, you will be strickened with ill health, pain in your bones, (and all the scary things that you can imagine) etc during old age. However if you do a good confinement, not only will your original health be reinstated, you might become even healthier than what you were before pregnancy.

I am determined to do a good confinement in order to prepare for the next pregnancy and to not have to be plagued with ill health when I grow old. 

How/what should I do to do a good confinement? 

1.Not wash your hair and shower for 1 month (YIKES!) to prevent “wind” from getting into your body which will cause aches and pain

I definitely will not be able to do that. The hot and humid weather of Singapore will make me sweat like mad. I’d stink and al the flies will harrass me. Baby Jayden will cry whenever he comes close to me because I smell like crap. 

So how can prevent the “wind” from getting into my body but still shower? 

First, get a short hair cut so that I can still wash my hair and quickly dry it when I am out of the toilet. 

  
 

  
In my next post, I will share my research on the confinement practices that Chinese believe in and how I will go about doing my confinement in 4 weeks time! 

Leave a comment